‘Give Us Your Poor’ Multi-Artist Benefit CD To Be Released On September 25 On Appleseed Recordings

 We normally do not do music reviews, however this is one we felt was important to share. The follwoing is the official press release from Shore Fire Media.

Album Proceeds To Help Fight Homelessness

Performers Include Bruce Springsteen And Pete Seeger, Jon Bon Jovi, Bonnie Raitt, Madeleine Peyroux, Natalie Merchant, Jewel, Tim Robbins And Others
On September 25th, Appleseed Recordings will release ‘Give US Your Poor,’ a multi-artist benefit CD devoted to fighting homelessness. The release features exclusive new songs by American musical legends Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen, Jon Bon Jovi, Madeleine Peyroux, Sonya Kitchell, Bonnie Raitt, Natalie Merchant, Michelle Shocked, Keb Mo and others, many in collaboration with currently or previously homeless musicians.

From Springsteen and Seeger’s rendition of the folk classic “Hobo’s Lullaby” and Jon Bon Jovi and Mighty Sam McClain’s inspirational “Show Me The Way” (not the Peter Frampton song) to Bonnie Raitt and Weepin’ Willie Robinson’s bluesy “Walking the Dog” and legendary a cappella group Sweet Honey in the Rock’s “Stranger Blues,” ‘Give US Your Poor’ features 19 stirring tracks that showcase America’s rich musical history. Other highlights include Natalie Merchant performing “There Is No Good Reason” with six formerly homeless musicians, Madeleine Peyroux’s “I Think It’s Going to Rain Today,” actor/musician Tim Robbins’ candid spoken excerpt “Impossible Boulevard” and opera singer Mario Frangoulis performing “Feels Like Home.” All but two of the tracks on ‘Give US Your Poor’ are exclusive to the album.

‘Give US You Poor’ includes a 28-page booklet that reveals the story behind the stories of the songs and performers and also presents a variety of affecting and exasperating statistics:

• In the course of any given year, 3.5 million Americans are homeless.

• Homeless shelters in 27 major cities turn down 37% of individuals and 52% of families due to overcrowding.

• 41% of all homeless are families.

• One out of four homeless is a child under the age of 10.

• 43% of the homeless work.

“I started Appleseed to plant the seeds of social justice and bring attention to various social issues over the years,” says Jim Musselman, president and founder of Appleseed Recordings. “I hope this CD can help tear down the wall of misconception about the homeless and reverse their status as ‘non-people.’ And that we as a country can redirect our energies towards helping all citizens in need.”

About Give US Your Poor
Give US Your Poor is a national fund- and awareness-raising campaign for the homeless established by the University of Massachusetts Boston. Give US Your brings together the latest research, multimedia, celebrities, non-celebrities, homeless people and partner organizations to help end homelessness.

About Appleseed Recordings
With a mission of sowing the seeds of social justice through music and exploring the roots and branches of folk and world music, Appleseed releases albums of lasting and historical value. The company also backs up its altruistic outlook by contributing a percentage of its profits to environmental, human rights, and other progressive organizations.

‘Give US Your Poor’ Track List

1. “Land of 10,000 Homeless – Minnesota” – audio documentary set to music
2. “Show Me the Way” – Jon Bon Jovi & Mighty Sam McClain
3. “Baby Don’t Let Me Go Homeless” – Keb Mo & Eagle Park Slim
4. “There Is No Good Reason” – Natalie Merchant & Friends
5. “Hobo’s Lullaby” – Bruce Springsteen & Pete Seeger
6. “So Lonely” – Sonya Kitchell
7. “Becky’s Tune” – Michelle Shocked and Michael Sullivan
8. “Walking the Dog” – Bonnie Raitt & Weepin’ Willie Robinson
9. “My Name Is Not ‘Those People'” (spoken, with music) – Danny Glover
10. “I Think It’s Going to Rain Today” – Madeleine Peyroux
11. “Portable Man” – Del Goldfarb & John Sebastian
12. “Boll Weevil” – Dan Zanes & Kyla Middleton
13. “Ink Falling (Father Outside)” – Buffalo Tom
14. “Stranger Blues” – Sweet Honey in the Rock
15. “1,000 Miles Away” * – Jewel
16. “Impossible Boulevard” (spoken excerpt, with music) – Tim Robbins
17. “Feels Like Home” – Mario Frangoulis
18. “When We Left Minneapolis (spoken, with music)” – Danny Glover
19. “Here and Now” * – Mark Erelli

All tracks previously unreleased except *