Housing Policy Forum and Leadership Reception

NLIHC Sets April 2-4 for Policy Forum on Housing Crisis and its Solutions

The National Low Income Housing Coalition has announced its 2017 Housing Policy Forum in Washington, DC, April 2-4, 2017.

The Forum provides opportunities to engage with thought-leaders, policy experts, researchers, affordable housing practitioners, low income residents, and leaders from Capitol Hill and the new Administration about the state of the affordable housing crisis in America and its solutions.

The 2017 Housing Leadership Award recipients, J. Ronald Terwilliger and Amy Anthony, will be recognized for their contributions to affordable housing at NLIHC’s annual Leadership Reception on the evening of April 4.

The Policy Forum will explore challenges and opportunities emerging from the 2016 presidential and congressional elections and the best strategies for achieving positive affordable housing policy solutions. NLIHC will invite the new HUD secretary to share his or her vision and priorities and to engage with participants about their concerns, aspirations, and recommendations.

The Forum will also explore the lessons learned from the first year of implementation of the national Housing Trust Fund; the intersections between housing and health, education, criminal justice reform, and other areas; and ways to rebalance U.S. federal housing investments to end homelessness and housing poverty, among many other topics. The third day of the Forum provides an opportunity for participants to visit their congressional delegations on Capitol Hill.

J. Ronald Terwilliger, chairman emeritus and former CEO of the Trammel Crow Residential Company, will receive the 2017 Edward W. Brooke Housing Leadership Award for his outstanding contributions to the cause of rebalancing federal affordable housing policy at NLIHC’s Leadership Reception on April 4.

The Brooke Award is named for the late Senator Edward W. Brooke (R-MA), who championed low income and fair housing while in Congress and later served as the chair of NLIHC’s Board of Directors. The award is presented to individuals who advocate for affordable housing on the national level.

Retired Preservation of Affordable Housing President and Founder Amy Anthony will be the recipient of the 2017 Cushing N. Dolbeare Lifetime Service Award. The Dolbeare Award is named after NLIHC’s founder, considered the godmother of the affordable housing movement. NLIHC presents the Dolbeare Award to individuals for their lifetime of service to affordable housing.

A limited number of shared-lodging hotel scholarships will be awarded on a first-come-first-served basis to low income residents who are NLIHC members and who pay their own Forum registration fee (“self-pay participants”). To ensure a broad geographic distribution, no more than two scholarships will be awarded to participants from any one state.

Register for the 2017 Forum

Apply for a Scholarship

Subscribe to Our Newsletter and Receive News You Can Use Every Morning

Subscribe to Our Weekly Newsletter and Receive News You Can Use Every Friday